Goodbye Jesus

Singularity

moxieflux66

Scientist Says Humans Will Reach the Singularity Within 21 Years (popularmechanics.com)

How will xtians feel about this? 

Better yet, how do YOU feel about this? 🤔

• Like 1

Sounds interesting.  But since I know virtually nothing about it, it sounds kinda like something from Star Trek.  But I am having trouble understanding the concept of "singularity".  Would that be something that would be eventually passed down through DNA from parent to child?  If not, would it really be singularity?  Seems to me like it would be more like an "add on" feature. 😁   Maybe he is being a little dramatic??

On 8/9/2024 at 3:58 PM, moxieflux66 said:

Scientist Says Humans Will Reach the Singularity Within 21 Years (popularmechanics.com)

How will xtians feel about this? 

Better yet, how do YOU feel about this? 🤔

The words being used, Singularity and Artificial Intelligence have little meaning to me. I have been programming computers for many decades. Artificial Intelligence in the scientific sense is simply a good computer program whereby, like humans, computers can assess the odds, make evaluations and recommendations that can be totally wrong, just like humans. This could have been done sixty years ago, but granted, the computer programs are far more sophisticated now, their memories can be thousands of times bigger, compute thousands of times faster, and sometimes are almost a thousand times smaller also.

Very few people will ever understand how this works unless they are well-educated on the subject, which means almost no Christians :)

• Like 2

On 8/9/2024 at 7:36 PM, Weezer said: