Goodbye Jesus

Questioning everything

Dsred19

I am  40+ mom and scientist by profession. Was a Christian since I was 16 but now questioning everything. I really don’t know how I ever reconciled faith with what I learned from my education and training. I feel foolish now. On the one hand, it did provide my life with direction and hope. I have a wonderful marriage and family, but now I can no longer ignore the inconsistencies, contradictions, lack of evidence, atrocities, mysoginy, etc of it all. I have slowly gone from a fundamentalist to more and more liberal with my faith over the years but I don’t think I can do it anymore. The turning point was my sister in law dying in front of me and despite our family crying out to god to save her we all knew she was gone and no amount of prayer would raise her from the dead. What was even the point of all this then? I knew darn well no god was going to answer our prayer so why bother with more of them? I am mostly keeping my doubts to myself for fear it will hurt my marriage and other relationships. Thanks for listening.

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

Wow! That was powerful! Thank you so much for sharing that with us. Welcome to our humble forum, and feel free to spill whatever is on your mind. 

P.S. I can tell you are a scientist; fewer words.............😉❤️

Moxie

50 minutes ago, Dsred19 said:

The turning point was my sister in law dying in front of me and despite our family crying out to god to save her we all knew she was gone and no amount of prayer would raise her from the dead. What was even the point of all this then? I knew darn well no god was going to answer our prayer so why bother with more of them? I am mostly keeping my doubts to myself for fear it will hurt my marriage and other relationships. Thanks for listening.

Funny how death does that, up close and personal. I think it's the biggest offense xtianity has to offer, all they portray as the Afterlife and how they alone have exclusive knowledge of it.